This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

In need of help with router settings. Complete noob at this type of stuff.

• Topic Archived
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. In need of help with router settings. Complete noob at this type of stuff.
1 year ago#1
Hello. After two days of searching for tutorials online and trying to follow them (to no avail) I turn here, hoping someone will be able to help me.

I am trying to establish a Static IP Address on my Xbox One and open the ports necessary to change my NAT type from Strict to Open. All of the tutorials I've found do not seem to help me though. They assume I know more than I actually do. I messed it up so bad I had to call tech support from my internet provider and have them remotely fix my router. I don't want this to happen again, but I want to get better connections.

I would really appreciate it if someone could explain to me in the absolute simplest way possible (or direct me to a pre-written, impossible to screw up guide) as to how to do this.

I'm not really sure what all information you need, so here is what I think is the pertinent stuff.

Xbox One current on updates.
Laptop running Windows 8.1
Netgear Router model B90 - 755044 - 15

If it matters at all, I know how to open ipconfig/all but do not know what information I am looking for on this page in order to follow the instructions I've been given. I also know how to open up the page for my router settings and navigate around it, but cannot figure out how to open ports.

If someone could please assist me with this, I would be greatly appreciative. And please, act like you're explaining this to a five year old. I'm tired of screwing my settings up. I just want to be able to play games again.

Thank you very, very much, in advance.
---
XBL GamerTag - Crexlarth
Currently Playing Forza Motorsport 5, add me for drivatar races
1 year ago#2