This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

What would a Linux distro have to offer in order for you to switch from Windows?

#11AlexKidd5000Posted 3/20/2014 10:45:55 AM
godplaysSNES posted...
Support for all non-Linux games

I can confess I have very little experience of Linux compared to others here.
But in order for it to be easy for new users, one really must be able to simply double click on a file to install, with no dependency on the terminal whatsoever.

godplaysSNES posted...
Support for all non-Linux games

I can confess I have very little experience of Linux compared to others here.
But in order for it to be easy for new users, one really must be able to simply double click on a file to install, with no dependency on the terminal whatsoever.

Obviously Linux is getting alot more games lately. The terminal is completely optional, unless your system got screwed up by a virus somehow, or simply by user error, and you need to fix it from a straight command line.
#12halomonkey1_3_5Posted 3/20/2014 10:47:24 AM
I'll switch to Linux when its a forgone conclusion that major titles support it. Almost never do PC gamers have to worry if Windows is going to be supported when someone says a game is coming to PC(at least when talking about modern games and not crappy knockoffs/etc). Same thing with drivers. If I go buy some PC hardware peripheral, I can safely assume it'll (officially) have support for Windows. Not true with Linux(or even OS X, for that matter).

I actually used Linux for a number of months(shortly after Vista was released, IIRC), but I always had to boot into Windows for certain things that either flat out didnt work on Linux or was a major pain in the butt and then when Windows 7 rolled around and basically fixed everything that Vista screwed up, I gave up on Linux since Windows was (once again) the path of least resistance.
---
Billy Mays: July 20, 1958 - June 28, 2009
The Greatest