This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

I need help retrofitting my basic PC to play recent games (just need video card)

#1IminyourclosetPosted 4/13/2014 4:11:40 PM
It's a basic pre-built PC I bought on sale at a PC World, for working at uni. I ran some "Can I run this" scans, and it apparently meets both the minimum and recommended settings for many games I want to play, but the video card falls dismally short, so I think I'm just going to replace that.

I have little knowledge and no experience with computer components. I know it's an integrated graphics card, so it's not even a proper one, but that still means it can be replaced, right? Are there different types of video cards? Are some compatible with my system and some not, or would any one be fine?

http://i.imgur.com/uZlc7Vd.jpg
#2Iminyourcloset(Topic Creator)Posted 4/13/2014 4:13:25 PM
Also a disclaimer, it doesn't need to run well, I'd be happy to play on the lower graphics settings. After a couple of years of only being able to play Morrowind, Fallout 2, Deus Ex, thief and Dungeon Keeper on this thing, any change would be good.
#3ClouddxPosted 4/13/2014 4:16:55 PM(edited)
Can I run it is a useless site, it's almost always wrong. Judging by the picture, it is wrong. You won't be able to run any new games at all.

Your processor is old and only dual-core. What we need to know is what mobo you have so we can see if you have PCI slots and we also need to know the wattage of your PSU.

The best card for you to upgrade to would most likely be an HD7770.
---
i7-920 @ 3.6 // 770 GTX // 12 GB G.Skill Sniper Ram // PS3 // 360
FiiO e9+17 // AD700 + M50 // Deck Legend + 82 // DAS Ultimate S
#4Sora_AnbuPosted 4/13/2014 4:15:27 PM
... You need a better cpu, video card. I'm gong to assume you'll also need a power supply, and more ram, I suggest 8 gigs at least 1600.

Look inside the case and see what power your power supply is.

Basically you'll need to build from the ground up.
---