This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Any creative types with experience working on the Lenovo Yoga and Surface Pro?

#1JenniferTatePosted 5/10/2014 3:07:32 AM(edited)
Hello!

I'm an artist and writer. I currently use a Cintiq 24HD for my illustration and other art work (flatting comics, coloring comics, photography, random design gigs), thus I do most of my work at my desk since that monster isn't going anywhere.

I'm in a slump of sorts, as I work from home, and I use the same desk and chair to write, draw, and game. It gets old. I am also more and more mobile these days, so I need something to work on and entertain me. For the past year I've been considering new laptops, and I briefly owned a Surface Pro until I had a nagging feeling something might come along. I returned it (reluctantly) and in a week the SP2 was announced.

I feel the SP2 is a niche machine, but it meets my needs. It's a portable capable PC with a Wacom quality screen. It can run Manga Studio, CS, Celtx, and basic word processing. Running games on it is a bonus, not a selling feature. The screen and it's ability to be drawn on comfortably in a go-anywhere manner is the only reason I don't just grab an Ultrabook.

Recently the Lenovo Yoga Ultrabooks have been brought to my attention. Touchscreen, lays flat or flips, better keyboard. Full on PC, as far as I know.

I don't know much about them aside from the reviews I've read, and I find that where the Yoga and Surface Pro are concerned (certainly the Pro over the base Surface), many reviewers and hands-on articles don't address the whole creative tool aspect of the machines. They focus on hardware and performance and how comfortable it is, but they never touch on what I'd like to know. Again, I think it's a niche need, but it's a need.

I've only found one, from a comic book artist in similar situation, but it's only about the Pro: http://jonathancase.net/my-transition-to-surface-pro-and-manga-studio/