This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Looking to purchase a Mac desktop...should I go new or used/refurbished?

#11Blobs_Posted 6/19/2014 9:31:38 PM(edited)
DynamoManX posted...
TimePharaoh posted...
DynamoManX posted...
As an aspiring filmmaker/editor, one of the things that's held me back from further success is the lack of a Mac

lol

Yea that's totally the reason

one of the

Make a hackintosh then
EDIT: and stop being such a defensive ninny
---
is haha
#12DynamoManX(Topic Creator)Posted 6/19/2014 10:00:51 PM
rkpeagle posted...
I'm an editor too and I"m not sure about getting a Mac if you're budget is only $1500 because you're going to regret it.

I started off with a iMac '09 just to use FCP7 and it was just extremely underwhelming to edit with. I was constantly dealing with render times and when a client is paying us for a time then that's something we can't be dealing with. I eventually built a PC for $1500, switched to CS6, and I can handle editing RAW footage let alone HD footage with no problem. For me to get that kind of performance on a Mac, I'd be looking at a price range of $4000.

I understand the getting shut out of jobs because someone prefers FCP but if you're skilled enough in Premiere then it shouldn't matter because Premiere can do everything that FCP 7/X can do and more.

This goes back to my pet peeve with Apple: how absurdly expensive their products are compared to other brands w/similar or better specs.

I've been peeping this pre-built ASUS (I don't have the time, skill or patience to build my own PC TBH), and at $839.99 it already blows away all of the current-model iMacs:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BpktCS9CAAA0vCW.jpg
---
What were you looking for you wine-cooler sipping pansy, a witty sig??? Carry on.
#13kobalobasileusPosted 6/19/2014 11:38:05 PM
You're SOL, TC. If you want a Mac for film making, you need a Mac Pro. Period.
#14DynamoManX(Topic Creator)Posted 6/20/2014 4:29:03 AM