This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

First time builder - stuck and need help

#1rdking96Posted 7/15/2014 5:39:30 PM(edited)
Okay - so sorry if this is a really amateur question - currently in the middle of building my first PC.

So far:

-I have the CPU installed
-Have the aftermarket cooler installed
-the PSU installed
-and the MOBO is screwed in place on the standoffs in the case

I'm currently plugging in the fans, and can't seem to find a spot on the MOBO for my front case fan. There is a 4 pin slot on the mobo for a fan but the fan is a 3 pin. My question is, is the 4 pin slot a hybrid of sorts that can be used for a 3 pin fan plug?

Sorry if that's a dumb ass question...

EDIT: Looks like I found the answer on Tom's Hardware. I tried putting the 3 pin into the 4 pin slot, but it didn't go right away. Because I'm new to this and scared of breaking stuff I didn't want to force it though. Just confirming, sounds like a 4 pin slot CAN take a 3 pin fan plug?
---
"There won't be any money...but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness...So I got that goin' for me - which is nice."
#2andy12handyPosted 7/15/2014 5:39:53 PM
Yes, you can plug a 3 pin fan into a 4 pin connector, but unless it's a fan controller, you can't control it (spins at full at all times).
#3MC RaZaRPosted 7/15/2014 6:05:47 PM
Yeah, you can still plug the fan into the motherboard and get it working.
---
Oh, I don't want to walk that far. Anything that takes more than 12 steps isn't worth doing! Eh? 12? Get it? Steps! Hehehe.- Homer J. Simpson
#4rdking96(Topic Creator)Posted 7/15/2014 6:20:32 PM
[This message was deleted at the request of the original poster]
#5phantasyPosted 7/15/2014 6:23:29 PM
if you look around the the fan housing you will see arrows. the arrows points to how the air flow is.
---
[This message was FORCEFULLY deleted by a moderator or administrator]
#6rdking96(Topic Creator)Posted 7/15/2014 7:09:48 PM(edited)