This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Major in Computer Engineering or Comp sci?

#1TwiliLord666Posted 7/30/2014 7:29:51 PM
I'm an entering freshman and I'm having trouble deciding which path to take. I took AP CS in high school and did well enough in it. I'm pretty good in math and I enjoy it, so I know I want to do something in engineering, with computers in particular.

I'm aware that CompE is a lot of electrical engineering, which is a fairly hard subject. I'm tryharding no matter what, so I'm sure I can handle it. As for CS, it's more theory and discrete math, which, tbh sounds a bit unamusing. I liked what AP CS taught but it was intro stuff. Hardware sounds more interesting, but idk.

Idk how many people on GameFAQs took the major or have degrees, but I'm just looking for advice or tips.
---
Your posts are carcinogenic.
#2Erg0nPosted 7/30/2014 7:38:03 PM
Out of the 2, get Computer Engineering and get your PEng. Don't listen to anyone who says otherwise.

Electrical engineering and any discipline related to it is one of the most demanded jobs in the market. We got Comp eng and electrical eng guys here making 120k and the ones who are PEng are making 160k with end of year bonuses.
---
http://i.imgur.com/9Kj6EkR.gif
"The tragedy is not to die, but to be wasted." - Hannibal
#3TwiliLord666(Topic Creator)Posted 7/30/2014 7:44:00 PM
Erg0n posted...
Out of the 2, get Computer Engineering and get your PEng. Don't listen to anyone who says otherwise.

Electrical engineering and any discipline related to it is one of the most demanded jobs in the market. We got Comp eng and electrical eng guys here making 120k and the ones who are PEng are making 160k with end of year bonuses.