This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

I dobt understand why they cant just bring all the games to the PC.

#11SetzeraPosted 8/13/2014 11:04:05 PM
I forsee a lot of titles coming to PC this gen, but not all of them. Otherwise consoles would be completely pointless to own.
---
| AMD FX-8350 @ 4.0 ghz | MSI 970A-G46 | MSI HD 7870 2GB | 8GB 1600 DDR3 | 650W Corsair | Win7 64bit | 1TB WD Blue | CM 912 HAF |
#12LikeGoodMorningPosted 8/14/2014 4:03:04 AM
Lvthn posted...
I see this brought up all the time, and while I'm not a game developer, I'm pretty sure they don't have to code in every potential hardware configuration. It would seem to me a great deal of that is already taken care of by drivers. What very limited programming I did back in my youth would still run on a modern computer.

Also, I'm pretty sure PS4 games are developed using PCs. I somehow do not think it's easier to use a PC to develop for console than to use a PC to develop for PC.

But you sound as though you speak from experience, and "these days" even implies that it's veteran experience. So maybe you can clear up why programs run on hardware that was not even conceived of when they were released, and the implications that has for having to program for each possible hardware configuration? It sounds difficult, to say the very least.

I doubt it would be because it is easier to develop for consoles I would assume piracy can be a big turn off for pc versions. When the ps4/xbox one get jail broken expect more pc ports of games to just start coming.
#13snesmaster40Posted 8/14/2014 4:17:22 AM
There tends to be a lot of worry about money with most games, but PC gaming is at a point where a console developer can port their game to PC and see a profit really quickly. Best example would be Alan Wake which saw a profit after a few days of release.
---
Are we not men?
#14temgunPosted 8/14/2014 4:18:08 AM
noimnoturdaddy posted...