This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

PC Build: Help a Console Peasant

#1rx54Posted 8/13/2014 11:49:49 PM
So I've been thinking of getting a PC for quite some time now.
With all the big games coming out soon, and the 800 series, soon seems like a better time than ever.
However, I'm a control freak perfectionist who probably has OCD which makes getting a PC difficult. I feel like I need to know EVERYTHING and have a game plan for getting one.
It's overwhelming. So much to learn, so many options and choices...

Here's what I have so far: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Hunched/saved/TJmmP6
The 780 is only there to make the price more accurate to what it should be, I'm waiting for the 880.

While I think I'm capable, I have no experience or knowledge on PC stuff, I have never built or owned a PC, I have a laptop, I've always been a console gamer.
I'm trying to make a list of everything I need to do with the PC to have it gaming ready.

- I need to build it obviously, I don't know what tools I need, I need an anti static wrist thing
- I think ninite.com is all I need for all my programs
- I need to figure out how to overclock my CPU and GPU, I think people said MSI Afterburner for GPU
- I don't know what a good keyboard and mouse is, at all... All the cherry switch variants confuse me
- I'd like to have surround sound on PC, which may not happen. Astro MixAmp only works with Dolby, can't decode DTS :/

That's just off the top of my head, tip of the iceberg of questions.
Some things I should note, this PC is exclusively for gaming, I'll never go for SLI or multiple monitors, and I'm going for 1080p/60 high settings+ gaming. As a lifelong peasant, I see myself using a controller whenever possible still.
I don't even know if this is the best place to get the answers, maybe someone might even recommend me to a better forum for PC questions.