This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Console Gamer Migrating To PC. I Have Questions.

#1golden85354Posted 8/14/2014 3:33:00 PM
Hello. I Am Thinking Of Becoming A Member Of The ''PC Master Race''. Now, I Have NO Idea How To Upgrade A PC. So I Wanted To Ask You Guys A Few Questions.
Is My Hardware Powerful Enough? Ive Been Thinking Off buying Rise of the tomb raider for pc. I Own A Windows HP ENVY 23 TouchSmart PC With Windows 8.1. Here Are My Specs, Based On What My Computer Tells Me.

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2130 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40GHz
Installed Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB (3.86 GB Usable)
System Type: 64-bit Operating System, x64 Based Processor
Pen And Touch: Full Windows Touch Support With 10 Touch Points

Now, Is My PC Powerful Enough To Play Games That Are Currently Out?
How Long Before I Need To Upgrade? (Is It True You Need To Upgrade Often?)
How Do I Upgrade Exactly? Im Not Too Tech Savvy... Do I Need To Take Stuff Apart?
Thanks For The Help.
#2DetectiveZPosted 8/14/2014 3:38:17 PM
First off, I don't recommend upgrading a laptop. The parts are extremely hard to find. (If you can find them at all.) and they can't put the same amount of power a desktop gives.

About your build, I'm assuming your running on an integrated graphics card. The bad news is that your PC may only be able to play low, maybe medium settings. I don't think you'll get that great FPS on it. Seeing that it's also an HP computer, it'll most likely suffer from overheating problems which will slow down your games.

You may want to build a brand new PC rather then game on the laptop you currently have.
A common saying I've heard is that you should upgrade a part every 2 years or so. You don't have to though.

If you want a PC game that can run at 1080p with 60fps, you might want to fork over 1000-1200$

reddit.com/r/buildapc can help you with building your PC.
---
3DS FC: 1504-5928-8042
Krabby, Poliwhirl and Floatzel