Mods question

#1mrblurrPosted 9/30/2012 9:10:04 PM
I recently started playing this again and I've decided to use mods this go around since I'm on PC with the GOTY edition. Which version is needed based on mod compatibility? I believe 1.7 is the latest, right?

I've downloaded a few so far, but what would you guys recommend me getting if I'm wanting to improve the quality of my gameplay experience (having never played the DLC) and wanting some new things/places?
---
PSN: Mrblurr
XBL Tag: Mrblurr
#2PioneerCODPosted 9/30/2012 10:43:22 PM
Existence 2.0

Its a radio mod with a quest attached.

I gotta recommend the Random Encounters mod also. It adds a "quest" that tells you when you trigger unique random encounters. This is useful because it is easily possible to trigger random encounters and never even be aware of them, thus missing some of the unique, interesting, and amusing ones.

RH ironsights, Weapon Mod Kits, and all the assorted bridges to make them work together... for realism.
---
The slow blade penetrates the shield.
#3mrblurr(Topic Creator)Posted 10/1/2012 12:39:02 AM
Thanks, I'll give them a look.
---
#4bhamvPosted 10/1/2012 3:52:25 AM
Yes, v1.7 is the latest version, which is needed for all the DLC to work. It's also what most mods are based on, and the mods often require an up-to-date game.

Some of the most popular mods:

Fallout Wanderer's Edition (FWE): Whole bunch of new weapons, armors, and gameplay features. Food, drink, and sleep become necessary. Everything has weight, including ammo and meds. XP gain is slowed down, so you won't find yourself at max level 10 hours into the game, like in vanilla. Global damage is upped, making combat more challenging. Alternate starts, so you don't always start out in the Vault. Also, almost every new gameplay feature can be toggled, so if (for example) you don't like the new XP rate, you can just set it back to vanilla. If you don't like having to eat and drink and sleep, you can turn that feature off. Etc etc.