This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

My patches disappeared, my save files are corrupted - WTF?!

#1SketczPosted 10/2/2012 10:06:10 AM(edited)
I'm new to the 360 world, I only bought it a couple of weeks ago, but have owned a PS3 for several years.

I don't want to come across as trolling, because I'm officially a 360 owner, but **** me this thing is badly designed.

I can't go online very often, so mainly stay offline. So I got my 360, installed about 30 games, and methodically went through each getting the patches for them. I also bought about 10 XBLA games, patched them, and settled down for a few weeks of offline gaming.

So today I'm able to go online again, and turns out ALL my patches are gone and needed redownloading. Great. So I do all the disc games (about 20 out of the 30), plus the XBLA games, AGAIN.

Now I find that NIN-2 JUMP and Fez no longer recognise the saves. Which sucks, because only today did I get all the achievments on NIN-2 JUMP. It says the save is either broken or from an older version. Plus Alaskan Storm says my save is from an older version and so is unstable. I put 30 hours into career mode - I'M NOT DOING IT AGAIN!

WTF is going on? Why did all my patches dissapear? Why are all my saves broken now? I did a search and read somewhere that the 360 holds its patches in the cache, and only between 4-10 patches at a time. I'm juggling 20 games here and it only holds 10 patches?!

You know, with the PS3 I download a patch once and it stays there. I have also never had a save file corrupt itself in the 5 years I've owned it. two weeks and my 360 has ****** itself and all my saves. I need stability, people. I need to know my data is safe.

Is there some kind of fix for this crap? Because right now the best option to me seems to be to NEVER patch anything, ever, and just live offline. I mean, come on, 30 hours worth of game time down the toilet because the patch breaks everything!

EDIT: