This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Why do so many gamers cry over ME2 and 3 being action RPGs?

#1pothocketPosted 11/30/2012 2:38:11 PM
I see this time and again. Somehow ME1 is the best game in the series because it was an "actual" RPG, despite having the worst gameplay, sidemissions, environments, variety, everything...

I don't even know what definition of RPG these people are using that excludes ME2 and 3. I assume it's something about stats or numbers, right? Seriously, someone explain to me how ME1 is an RPG but 2 and 3 are not.

To me, it really is like they're pissed just because the series was improved by implementing elements of a "lesser" genre. They act like the jocks stole their D&D source book and are having more fun than they were and aren't even playing by the rules correctly and...OMG did they get girls to play with them? Well, that is just not RPGing. No sir.
---
well I am not like your dad. I worked as a chef at TGIF-Mattson
#2SonyHoundDawgPosted 11/30/2012 2:39:57 PM
People dont cry about it being an action RPG, ME1 is basically an action RPG too. Once your stats are high enough its basically like a poor third person shooter.

People where mostly upset at ME2 for a few reasons:

1. gun/armor customization was gone.
2. no xp during missions, you only can levle between missions

And somewhere along the line people say you get less choices in ME2 but thats just bushwa.
#3pothocket(Topic Creator)Posted 11/30/2012 2:41:59 PM
It's been so long since I played 1 don't even remember the gun/armor customization. What I do remember is having 20 assault rifles with different stats that all look EXACTLY the same.
---
#4Arucard05Posted 11/30/2012 2:42:40 PM
It always seemed silly to me. Mass Effect was always sold as an action/RPG hybrid. Who really cares if the scales tipped a little more in one direction. It's not like it become something it wasn't originally.