This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Doctor states that there is no link between violent crimes and video games

#1Hucast9Posted 12/23/2012 9:18:32 AM
What he's saying is exactly my belief as well. Going out on a rampage with guns is genetically decided, and is not the product of what you see on tv or games:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWqaE4ClAq4
#2SunDevil77Posted 12/23/2012 9:36:17 AM
I wish I was a doctor...things I say would actually matter.
---
These people are meat virgins. They'll be taken by the grill and delicately and tenderly be shown the ways of flavorful meat love. The first time is beautiful.
#3TheBlueStigPosted 12/23/2012 9:36:27 AM
Genetically decided?

Care to prove that half-assed theory?

That's just as stupid as all the other "people are born that way" theories that get debunked all the time.
---
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Ben Franklin
#4Last VampirePosted 12/23/2012 9:40:41 AM
Plenty of doctors have stated the opposite as well.

The truth is that we don't know either way, but there is something to be said for desensitization, which is a different matter entirely.
---
[Exit, pursued by a bear.]
GT:
LafayetteV
#5TheBlueStigPosted 12/23/2012 9:43:15 AM
Last Vampire posted...

The truth is that we don't know either way, but there is something to be said for desensitization, which is a different matter entirely.

Actually we do know, the matter was heavily looked into by the Supreme Court and the decision was handed down that games don't turn people into killers, neither does music, or movies, or books, or art.
---
"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Ben Franklin
#6Gwildor123Posted 12/23/2012 9:43:52 AM