This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Way to fix analog stick that moves on its own?

#11Res5Posted 1/4/2013 12:20:27 PM
First and foremost: Try rotating the controller around a few times. My PS2 controller does this and rotating the stick makes it stop (at least until the next time I turn on the console)

The cause of this is usually because the controller logs the default position as whatever position the joystick is in when the controller/console turns on.

Don't quote me on this but I suspect that this happens more permanently if something below the stick gets moved out of place so the default position is always at a certain place that's not where it should be. If you think you can take your controller apart without destroying it try to see if there's any rubber sticks or something below the joystick that are a little off. I'm not an expert, I have to make that very clear, I AM NOT AN EXPERT, but it could just be that the rubber tracker underneath the joystick is off just like if you take the keys off of a keyboard it has rubber buttons underneath and if they aren't set right the keys won't work correctly.
---
My theme song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBjQ9tuuTJQ
Most people think they are the odd one out but never truly are. I am that one who actually is. :D
#12Res5Posted 1/4/2013 12:21:41 PM
There's always the possibility of it being something else entirely too though. Do you or anyone else who uses your controller have greasy hands or play after eating without washing your hands? The grease could get into the controller and royally mess things up, likely very permanently.

If that is the case I would urge you to make sure any hands that touch it are clean.
---
Most people think they are the odd one out but never truly are. I am that one who actually is. :D
#13Dameon55Posted 1/4/2013 12:47:38 PM