This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Narratives: Does the Internet/Technology in a story destroy your immersion?

#1JenniferTatePosted 1/27/2013 6:16:59 PM
I've got a question that came up after a discussion today, and I'd like my GFAQs friends' input. It's story and writing-reading related, but it does pertain to video games and I will specifically cite games for examples, so I hope this isn't considered off-topic.

I'm a writer and artist working on my own scripts, stories, and projects (comics). I have a lot of ideas, sometimes they come too fast for me to focus on, which actually sucks. I had an idea today that I started developing: it's your standard post-apocalyptic sci fi adventure, think Fallout, The Last of Us, Metro 2033, I Am Alive, that sort of story and world.

In this world, it's been about three, four hundred years since civilization declined. That's a long time when you look at human history and such, I felt it worked well. I worked out the broadest details to make the actual story I wanted to tell plausible in this world, and bounced the ideas off of my editor and close friends.

One confidante came back and told me the idea was neat in theory, but the Internet, cell phones, satellites, and modern technology make it implausible and unbelievable. I explained how I could reasonable explain away those things as factors, but was countered that the Internet and technology can never go away.

So here's my question (and thank you for reading this far): Do you even consider things like the Internet or other modern technologies when you are immersed in Fallout, Metro 2033, or watching The Walking Dead or reading something like The Hunger Games?

I don't mean to fully ignore them, as I like to have it at least touched on why technology of convenience we have isn't a factor in the narrative, but the discussion went on to say that something like Fallout and Last of Us or Resident Evil simply isn't enjoyable: