This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Advice with playing 360 on pc monitor? Help would be very much appreciated

#1telekiller5Posted 2/3/2013 7:01:28 PM
So my 10+ year old tv just broke, and I was wondering how to play my 360 through my monitor. Im not that tech savvy (Im just praying Im on the right board for this question) but heres all the specs I can figure out.

My xbox is the original version, no slim, or elite or whatever they are. Im pretty sure it has an HDMI port (either that or a USB port, above where I plug in my ethernet), but I dont have any kind of HD cable, cause I got the core version when it came out, so I just got the yellow/white/red cable.

My monitor is a samsung (not sure if that matters), and has 2 ports, DVI IN and RGB IN. My pc currently goes into DVI, but if I did this, would I be able to plug in both my 360 and pc and switch between them easily? or would I need to just get another monitor?

I would really appreciate any help on how to do this. If you need any other info, just tell me how to find it :)
---
Xbox live-Telekiller5
I have friends in high places, theyre called snipers.
#2xiTz_RyaNxPosted 2/3/2013 7:02:16 PM
HDMI cable for most will do, otherwise you'd need an adapter of some sort.
---
Saying I'm one of the best is just rude. All the people who don't agree look stupid then, and I don't want to make everyone feel stupid. (GT)- GotMyProSocksOn
#3telekiller5(Topic Creator)Posted 2/3/2013 7:08:04 PM
an HDMI adapter for which port on my monitor, DVI or RGB? and If DVI, would multiple things be able to connect to it?

also, I just realized I dont have speakers in my monitor, so how can I get sound?
---
Xbox live-Telekiller5
#4googlerPosted 2/3/2013 7:15:40 PM
They have vga cables but the audio adaptor is really short. The DVI was only sold in Japan
#5telekiller5(Topic Creator)Posted 2/3/2013 7:21:25 PM