This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Do games on specific consoles have their own "feel" anymore?

#1pothocketPosted 2/14/2013 6:35:31 AM
Started thinking about this because of Aliens and how it "feels" like a sega game. It reminds me of why I liked Genesis graphics as opposed to SNES. The Genesis was darker and gritty, like there was dirt between the pixels lol. At the time, SNES and N64 were the light and fuzzy systems while Genesis and Saturn/PS1 were the dark and gritty.

But it doesn't feel like that anymore, does it? I don't own a PS3 so I don't know about direct 360 vs PS3 comparisons but do any games feel different depending on which system you play them on? Have consoles lost their personality?
---
well I am not like your dad. I worked as a chef at TGIF-Mattson
#2DarkSymbiotePosted 2/14/2013 6:38:49 AM
Specific feels are between Wii vs. PS360.
---
My Resident Evil 6 Review| My XCOM: Enemy Unknown Review
http://bitly.com/Z2CT6n | http://bit.ly/RJGjrn
#3GGearXPosted 2/14/2013 6:40:10 AM
It's mostly because these days graphics are so high up that it doesn't matter anymore. The old war destroyed the different consoles from the past. Hopefully this new war will eliminate one of the big 3
---
GT: KryDamoure *Insert cool line here *
.............I'm a very shy guy........
#4ObtikPosted 2/14/2013 7:16:58 AM
GGearX posted...
It's mostly because these days graphics are so high up that it doesn't matter anymore. The old war destroyed the different consoles from the past. Hopefully this new war will eliminate one of the big 3

Cuz we want less variety and competition?
#5GGearXPosted 2/14/2013 7:24:13 AM
Obtik posted...
GGearX posted...

Cuz we want less variety and competition?

Uhhh... Yeah because the only consoles that are out or coming out this gen are the PS4, 720, and the WiiU right? (sarcasm)
---
GT: KryDamoure *Insert cool line here *
.............I'm a very shy guy........
#6DarkPhoenix424Posted 2/14/2013 7:54:56 AM