This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Say you had to rank each gen from your favorite to least favorite...

#1BBBanks03Posted 4/23/2013 6:44:08 PM
For me, my No.1 would have to be the 16-Bit Era. I'm hoping this would be the top choice for quite a few. I started playing games with the NES, and imo the 16-Bit gen pushed everything further and made everything I loved about the 8-Bit days even better, aside from maybe some of the excruciating challenge, for better or worse. I consider the SNES the greatest system of all time, and the Genesis wasn't far behind. There were just so many gorgeous, timeless games from this era it's just impossible to beat for me.

2. 8-Bit Era. I first discovered videogames, probably like many, with the NES. It was awesome times.

3. Current Gen. It's gone on too long, and there's a lot of things to dislike about this gen, like the lack of a lot of innovation towards the end of the cycle, but I think this gen has really started to push the boundaries of what videogames can be as art, and what they can really achieve. It leaves me pretty optimistic for the future.

4. Xbox/PS2/Gamecube Gen. Nothing bad about this gen at all, although it did feel like there was a little less about this gen that really stood out to me compared to others. I will say this gen took the 3d games introduced from the 32 Bit era and started to perfect them graphically; the games are much easier on the eyes.

5. 32-Bit Gen. This will probably be an unpopular choice amongst many considering how many all-time classics came around during this time, (Ocarina, MGS, Final Fantasy 7) but to me this is the gen I will probably return to the least. Many, many of the games of this period haven't aged well visually. I look at this gen as the "puberty stage" of gaming, there was a big change taking place, it was awkward in a lot of ways, and it was the beginning of the development we would see as 3d graphics and engines began to mature.