This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Hauppauge HD-PVR 2 or Hauppauge HD PVR 2 Gaming Edition Plus for capturing?

#1WalkingPlaguePosted 6/22/2013 6:11:37 PM
I am going to pick up an HD-PVR 2 soon, like tomorrow, and I want to know which model is the preffered one. I am new to this capturing scene and I am quite curious and figured I'd refer to the public. All help is greatly appreciated.

Hauppauge HD-PVR 2 High Definition:
http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-1512-Definition-Personal-Technology/dp/B00BA4ILX8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1371948119&sr=1-1&keywords=Hauppauge

Hauppauge HD PVR 2 Gaming Edition Plus:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BQ7KICQ

I own an LCD TV with both HDMI and Component inputs. I am aware that the PS3 cannot be captured via HDMI like the X360 can. Currently, I am running a Lenovo Y500 i5-3220 laptop if that factors into anything. Thanks in advance.
---
| g | a | m | i | n | g | my anti-drug
PSN-ID: nintendofied
#2blackhrtPosted 6/22/2013 6:26:15 PM
I've been able to capture on both the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 with my Avermedia GameCapture HD and both had their HDMI connected.

I did consider the Happauge, but I needed something simple and kind of easy to break down to take to different places. When I researched, if you are recording gaming, go with with the game edition. If you are doing regular capture, just get the regular one.

See you out there in upload world!
---
"I live my life 3 videogames at a time. Nothing else matters. Not the mortgage, not my clan and their BS. For those 3 games or less, I'm free."
#3WalkingPlague(Topic Creator)Posted 6/22/2013 6:30:23 PM
blackhrt posted...
I've been able to capture on both the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 with my Avermedia GameCapture HD and both had their HDMI connected.