This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Attn : TV Guru's I need help!

#1HibiKagePosted 8/27/2011 11:32:06 PM
I live in japan and I need to buy a new TV used primarily for gaming.

Can anyone recommend me a good model/brand to go with that is not too expensive. also LCD or plasma? Im a total TV noob.
---
ATM-09 RSC - MS-09
VF-1/S - Tactical Pod Regult
#2Teepo64Posted 8/27/2011 11:37:46 PM
Panasonic Plasmas are getting cheaper, I think.

Plasmas all the way.
---
Naughty Dog presents... Unkarted: Drake's Drift.
We're going to race, and look cinematically sexy doing it.
#3dragonballEEEPosted 8/28/2011 12:22:24 AM
Yeah, Panasonic Plasmas are the best for gaming (I sell TV's). They have the best color, they'll always be really sharp, they're cheaper, and they have 1ms lag input (it means when you do something on the controller, the TV moves with it, basically). Get a 1080P if you're trying to do gaming on it (which you obviously are).
#4archizzyPosted 8/28/2011 1:03:06 AM
dragonballEEE posted...
Yeah, Panasonic Plasmas are the best for gaming (I sell TV's). They have the best color, they'll always be really sharp, they're cheaper, and they have 1ms lag input (it means when you do something on the controller, the TV moves with it, basically). Get a 1080P if you're trying to do gaming on it (which you obviously are).

You didn't list any specific models and even if you were talking about the flagship VT30 it doesn't have the absolute best color as the Samsung PND8000 is pretty much the new reference display for color accuracy.

No Plasma or LCD is as low as 1ms for input lag and I'm wondering where you even got this number to begin with. Pretty much no professional review places in North America have any type of testing for input lag let alone a standardized test.

The closest thing you will find are user tests on avsforum and even they vary from person to person and no one will have a time that low.