This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

YLOD tips please!

#1fvzzPosted 1/1/2013 3:30:04 PM
Basically, I am not here to discuss what causes it/why. No trolling or anti Sony s---, please.

I am just afraid that my PS3 will fry soon. I only just noticed the yellow light today (after experiencing it's "symptoms") but my PS3 actually managed to turn on when i started it via the eject button. It is one of the 60gb models, bought brand new, getting up there in age.

I just want to know what I can do to best back up saves, etc.

I'm tight on money right now (I'm a broke student) but I can at least afford a PS+ account. Would that be a smart investment?

Also, should I send in my PS3 for repairs? I don't think I can afford a new one right now, f---.
#2DarknessXSeekerPosted 1/1/2013 3:33:15 PM
With PS+ you can save up to 1000MB of data I think, I may be wrong but that's what I remember. And I would not recomend sending your PS3 in for repairs, from what I have heard it will probably Yellow Light again in about 2 or 3 months.
---
"You're gonna get shown the door, old man."
#3u_madPosted 1/1/2013 3:38:18 PM
If you have protected saves that you want to keep, then yes it's worth it. Otherwise, just copy all of them to a USB and discard the others. II didn't want to dish out money for plus back then, but now with the instant game collection, I probably would have signed up for it.

You could repair your ps3 but its not gonna be permanent, it will ylod again. You can fix it yourself with a heat gun so if budget is gonna be a problem, I would think hard about doing it yourself. I'm the most useless guy out there with hands on stuff but I did it easily with the help of youtube.

Something you can try now is to replace the ps3 thermal paste to improve your ps3s cooling, it might delay the ylod for you.