This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Whats the reason to look forward for nextgen consoles?

#11stalepie29Posted 1/31/2013 10:17:47 PM(edited)
Ferarri619 posted...
I think the important thing is more RAM, which will result in better RTS, strategy, tycoon, etc. games. PCs have always been the only way to go for those types of games because of consoles' s****y RAM. The PS4 is supposed to have 8GB of RAM right?

Latest rumor (or "leak") had it at 4 gigs of GDDR5.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/df-hardware-orbis-unmasked-what-to-expect-from-next-gen-console

xbox:
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/df-hardware-next-gen-xbox-specs-leak

but it could still be up in the air, subject to change. For instance. AMD has been doing bad lately.
#12MaliciousMongoPosted 1/31/2013 11:19:51 PM
I agree about the RAM thing but though I'm no programmer, I do believe a game on a console with half as much RAM as a comparable PC can still perform on-par with the PC.

Why? Because consoles, even with the advancements made over this current gen, still can't do the millions of things that a PC can do (word-processing, writing html, gaming, etc) that all bog down the system in addition to the OS (Operating System) itself which takes up a decent amount of "bandwidth."

Don't get it twisted, like I said, I'm no expert. I could be horribly wrong. But I do believe no one ever takes these things into account when they compare their highly-touted 10GB RAM custom monster PC to a console.
---
"[The name] Dreamcast makes me think of rainbows and males kissing." - HollowPinky on Nintendo's console name change to Wii
#13ZetgobPosted 1/31/2013 11:29:23 PM
I think the important thing is more RAM, which will result in better RTS, strategy, tycoon, etc. games. PCs have always been the only way to go for those types of games because of consoles' s****y RAM. The PS4 is supposed to have 8GB of RAM right? Much better than the horrible 520MB consoles have now.