This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

What are your thoughts now that gaming has become mainstream this gen?

#11DakhanavarXPosted 2/10/2013 10:28:10 PM
archizzy posted...
I somewhat disagree about gaming being "dumbed down" when looking at the larger context.

I have been gaming regularly since 1980. Do I think games are easier now then before? Yes, but for valid reasons.

Coming from the arcade era games were designed to eat your quarters. A big chunk of my first home console games were arcade ports.

You also have to look at games back then and their extreme limitations. Basically 2D sidescrollers/platformers where *if* you had the game mastered you really knew how incredibly short games were.

For all the complaints about "short" modern games most games I play offer far more content and average a good chunk of time longer to complete.

Then looking at how much better controls have gotten. Being able to move the camera around, having fluid and free aim, the ability to complete objectives in a number of ways.

Going back to the 2D days of fixed cameras often giving you a poor view, respawning enemies right on the side of the screen, being attacked from off screen, only being able to shoot straight with no way of diagonal attacking so enemies can attack you and you have no way to attack them, on and on and on. It all ties into the "eat your quarters" mentality of artificially lengthening a game.

I find very little challenge in modern games but for understandable reasons.

This, pretty much word for word. I've been gaming since '89 or so, but definately this. So much of the old difficulty was to artificially extend games that were actually quite short or due to technical limitations.