This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

What would it take to be a video game developer?

#1VisualPendulumPosted 2/25/2013 8:55:31 PM
I grew up playing video games (born around the first PlayStation's release). Mainly platformers and adventure games. At some point I considered making games for a living because I felt it would be a nice way to earn money while having fun. I came to ask the enthusiasts what it would take to get me on the right track. However, I have one problem that I feel might derail this plan. I am completely mortified by the horror genre and cannot even work up the nerve to play a horror game, let alone consider making them. Would this be a huge setback for me?

Looking forward to feedback. Please don't burn me too hard.
#2LinkinLawgPosted 2/25/2013 8:59:12 PM
You need to be good in either 3D art or programming. Also a degree in Computer Science or Graphic Arts can help, you don't need those "Game Design" degrees, which most are expensive scam schools and don't guarantee you a job. Your local community college can do.

You can try experimenting with the Unreal Development Kit which is free to download.
---
PSN: LinkinLawg
Not changing this sig until I feel like it
#3VisualPendulum(Topic Creator)Posted 2/25/2013 9:05:44 PM
That's good to hear. If I were to join the industry it would most likely be as a programmer. Do you know what languages devs use today?
#4SCCAN85Posted 2/25/2013 10:52:44 PM
It's a lot of hard work and long hours. You can do fine as the other poster said but some schools can be helpful. Do your research and find out what you want to do and then where you can go to best learn the skills. I'm assuming you are around 15-18 which is good to know ahead of time.