This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

I really wish I could understand all the love Dark Souls gets.

#1Chr0noidPosted 4/19/2013 4:54:57 PM
I played both Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and it just....didn't click with me. It's basically Dungeon Crawling: The Game. Take any JRPG, subtract all the fun character interaction, town exploration, and RAMP UP THE ARTIFICIAL DIFFICULTY and it feels like that's Dark Souls in a nutshell. The game itself prides on killing you over and over but I never liked that aspect.

I've been gaming since 1991 (give or take a year maybe) and not once did I say to myself while playing a video game: Hmm....I'm not dying enough! NEED MORE CHALLENGE/FREQUENT DEATHS.

And even if Dark Souls isn't legitimately difficult it still doesn't change that the game is trying desperately to sell you on said difficulty. Maybe I just prefer more....eclectic quality in my video games. I dunno...
---
I did see a female Orc at Bellethor's General Store, buying a box of Redguards -RAGEface14, in a topic about Orc menstruation.
#2SoaringDivePosted 4/19/2013 5:04:13 PM(edited)
Why are you comparing Dark Souls to a JRPG? They're completely different genres. It's like comparing Metroid Prime to Call of Duty.

Anyways, you actually don't die very much in DS/DkS. It just that dying is actually important and has actually risks involved, so you think that you're dying more in these games than you actually are. I died many more times in Uncharted 2 than I did all of Dark Souls.

We like these games because it treats us like adults, like games rated M should. It doesn't pamper you and say "good try! Here, let me respawn you 30 seconds before! Are you dying too much? Try easy mode!"