This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Im new to SSBB....and have questions about online..

#1Dimon101Posted 4/30/2012 7:48:45 PM
im afraid if i go online i get my butt kicked badly....so..any tips for a newbie that wants to play online ..perhaps with some easy fights with someone or with someone? I just got this game btw..apparently i bought the last new copy at a gamestop..but meh...it was cheaper than this other game i wanted to buy...and i did like ssbm on gc.
---
"What's with the Hand-Nose thing?" ~ Wein Cruz talking about Hans from Growlanser Generations
#2Muffinz0rzPosted 4/30/2012 8:18:24 PM(edited)
I want to preface this post by saying that if you play the online modes that match you with random people, you have nothing to fear with regards to getting your butt kicked. 99% of the people there are scrubs.

Online is most likely nothing like what you're probably expecting it to be. There are no profiles, no ranking, or anything of that nature. The only thing even remotely close to that is friend codes, which are pretty simple; exchange codes with people and play with them directly.

As for everything aside from friend codes, here's what you have: Basic Brawl, Team Battle, and Spectator Mode.

Basic Brawl: 1v1v1v1, you're matched up with (up to) three other randoms in a two-minute free for all. Everyone chooses their own stage, but one of the four is chosen randomly (to my knowledge), the same applies for preferred item settings; for example, you could have items on high and everyone else could have them off, but there's a 25% chance that the game will choose your setting.