This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Should I just end the series at RE5?

#1GangrenousKhanPosted 9/18/2013 8:28:14 AM
When I pick games to play from videogame franchises, I try to pick the very best, while neglecting to play other games in the franchise because of a loss of quality that franchises seem to suffer after awhile. There have been exceptions to this of course (MGS).

I am fairly new to the Resident evil franchise. I downloaded and watched/played all of the Resident evil movies and the first 2 video games (RE1 and RE2) over the past week. My plan is to round the series off with RE 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. I am most likely not going to play 6, since, according to the general consensus, it is a complete mess, which contrasts with the other games because they got very good reviews. Not only that, but I heard that the primary story line started with RE1 ended in 5. So 6 sounds like it is some kind of addendum.

Without giving away any spoilers, can anyone tell me if I will be able to get a full quality story with RE 5 and call it a day?
---
"He raged at the world, at his family, at his life. But mostly he just raged." - Raging Goblin flavor text, Magic the Gathering Card
#2GaullerPosted 9/19/2013 10:34:37 AM
[This message was deleted at the request of the original poster]
#3este914Posted 9/19/2013 11:19:42 AM
I'd play in this order;

0, 1, 2, 3, C:VX, 4, 5, 6, Revelations

Have fun!
---
...::: este914 :::...
The One & Only!
#4doobiemaster420Posted 9/23/2013 6:12:38 PM
truly you can just stop at re4, play everything on the ps1 and ps2 and dont worry about anything after.

Make sure you get the outbreak files 1 and 2, they always tend to get looked over but they are really awesome.
---
"Oh, you think darkness is your ally. You merely adopted the dark; I was born in it." Bane.
#5millimaynePosted 9/29/2013 8:14:36 PM