Horse combat is quite difficult - tips?

#1SupaTrupaPosted 2/15/2010 10:45:49 AM

Is it a matter of putting enough skill points into Riding and/or Riding Combat/Archery (forgetting skills off-hand other than Riding and Riding Archery) in order to get any good at this?

Lance fighting is horribly awkward and requires ridiculous timing and some luck.

Do you just forget it and hope for the best until you can buy a high level horse and put 4-5 skill points or more, into the riding skills?

Or do I just suck? Just looking for advice from more experienced players. the realism of riding is very cool - but it doesn't make for fun combat so much, yet any ways.

#2Hambone2010Posted 2/15/2010 11:36:41 AM
I started playing the game a couple days ago and sucked really bad at horse combat.It just takes some getting used to but you will get the hang of it.
#3Lord BladePosted 2/15/2010 12:17:31 PM
It's a matter of practice. You get used to the timing and angles needed after a while.
You'll still get the odd wiff as your weapon passes over someone's head... but for the most part, once you get used to it, it's pretty straightforward.
---
"I'm the pretty one." - Oghren
#4SupaTrupa(Topic Creator)Posted 2/15/2010 1:24:08 PM
Hmm, ok thanks. While i've gotten better, playing a game of "chicken" isn't very fun (and often what it ends up being for now).

Guess I'll have to see how much upgrades to skills and horses helps. Right now it's just too painfully slow and clunky, and you just end up chasing enemies in circles until one of you stops....fighting on foot seems more entertaining still.
#5EvilBookwormPosted 2/15/2010 1:58:23 PM
That will change. Horse combat takes some getting used to. I would suggest spending some time at the practice range, or just fighting looters till you can hit someone pretty consistently. Lances are powerful, but they do take some practice to hit with it. This game requires some skill, and you'll get it in time.