Speed of Ships in Total War

#1Fat_Pete_61Posted 4/17/2012 7:18:39 AM
I started playing Medieval I several years back.

Since then, I've played, and completed, in order Empire, Rome, and I'm currently enjoying Medieval II.

I know that many players have other issues with these games, but for me, the thing that really gets my goat is the speed of the ships.

Empire, is bad enough, where it takes 3 turns, i.e. 18 months to sail across the Atlantic, or along the Mediterranean. This equates to about 5 miles per day.

By comparison, Nelson sailed from the Straits of Gibraltar, to the West Indies, and back to European waters in about six weeks, equivalent to 110 miles per day.

In Rome, a ship travels roughly 150-200 miles per six month turn, i.e roughly 1 mile per day.

This compares to Pytheas voyage of discovery c.320 BC, where he averaged 560 stadia, that is 60 miles per day.

Medieval II is the worst of the lot though. Six turns to sail from Britain to Spain - thats 12 years! Or, about one-third of a mile per day.

In 1588, the Spanish Armada took about 8 weeks for this journey.

I've noticed is that a ship travels the same distance during one six month turn in Rome as it does in one two year turn in Medieval II, which is most definitely incorrect. (I know, same game engine, different turn lengths set).

I was mildly frustrated by the slowness of the ships in Empire. In Medieval II though, the problems are worse by at least a factor of 10. Ships are ~20 times too slow in ETW, but over 200 times too slow in M2TW.

I'm otherwise thoroughly enjoying Medieval II, but is there any way to adjust the speed of the ships to something more realistic ?

Many Thanks FP61
#2PapaRosario23Posted 4/17/2012 12:11:32 PM(edited)
Yes, it's extremely easy to adjust the Action Points value assuming that you either have unpacked your data files or you are playing a mod where the data files are unpacked for you.