Character Advancement Logic

#1Bane_v2Posted 3/16/2009 9:59:07 AM
What are the best methods for advancing your character's attributes and talents?

I just started playing on Saturday as a Warrior. This game is unique in the fact that you can upgrade attributes and talents whenever you have the points to do so.

So I started upgrading my talents because they're cheap (blacksmith, perception, etc.) Then I realized that if I continued to do so I might not ever have enough points saved to increase my attributes (strength, constitution, etc.).

So I decided to ask you guys and gals to see if there are any methods that work well:

Set up attributes at creation and leave them be?
Focus on attributes first and then talents?
Focus on talents and upgrade attributes only if you need to?

Tips and tricks appreciated. Thanks folks.
#2IsfacuPosted 3/16/2009 10:19:10 AM
Well, spend your points on the talents for a good part of the beginning. When you reach higher lvls and start to reach max on your talents you will have more than enough to lvl up your stats. I generally tend to always have at least 500xp left, incase I run into a trainer that's got something interesting:)
#3Bane_v2(Topic Creator)Posted 3/16/2009 10:40:52 AM
The maximum level for a talent is tied to the level of the governing attribute(s) so once you can no longer increase the talent any further increase the attribute. That makes sense.

I'm going to have to go through the manual again to see if I can learn the relationship between the two so I can set the attributes to appropriate initial levels in character creation.

I learned in other threads to always use the Expert mode when creating a character, which I didn't do the first time. It makes total sense to do so though as my warrior has points in weapons and such that I don't plan on using so they're pretty much wasted points.

Good tip on the reserve points.

Any others out there?
#4BlindSkullPosted 3/16/2009 11:00:45 AM