Very new to SRPGs..

#1EvilZeroPosted 5/4/2013 3:56:11 PM
I'm trying to get into this game. I have a habit of grinding, but from what I've read this will get me into a bit of trouble in this game (if I outgrind the available equipment)

I'm not good at SRPGs at all, so I'm going to have to grind. How do I go about this without going overboard and making the game too difficult later on?
---
Platinum FN: 3223 4593 3393
#2Storm_WHMPosted 5/4/2013 4:13:10 PM(edited)
You can actually hire a soldier, and use it to grind with. If your characters attack the soldier they will gain JP, but since it's a low level they will gain low EXP. This is because JP and EXP work independently of each other. This can help so you don't end up over leveling.

A good trick is to equip some character with the Knights Art of War for the Rend Power and Rend Speed. You then get into an easy fight and kill off all enemies but one, then use the abilities to drop the SPD and PA of that enemy. Then if you use Rend Power on your own characters, they will deal very low damage to that newbie soldier. It's probably best to come into battle un-armed, or even use weapon break to destroy your own characters weapons.

Then when it's time to finish the battle, just kill off the enemy. Make sure though that you can kill him off quickly, because if you lower every one of your characters PA they won't do much damage.
---
Life is hard, deal with it. Life was never meant to be easy.
#3EvilZero(Topic Creator)Posted 5/4/2013 5:48:14 PM
And what would be a good spread of characters? Such as physical/ranged/support?

A problem I've found in games like these is my physical characters cannot kill fast enough to keep foes from piercing my lines and attacking my soldiers in the back.

Does 1 healer usually suffice?

3 attackers, 2 support, and a mage? 2 physical attackers, 2 support, a mage and an archer?