Constant internet connection required?

#1Vari3tyPosted 7/6/2010 8:59:51 PM

So I've been browsing around trying to find an answer to see if a constant internet connection is required to play this game. I really have no interest in multiplayer, and I really want to get this game, but if it requires me to have a constant connection I might just go back to playing Civ 3 & 4. Anyway, so has this been determined yet or is it yet unknown? I really hope it doesn't have it since I've been playing Civ 3 for around seven years now and would like to be able to do the same with this game.

#2King_Aragorn49Posted 7/7/2010 5:45:08 PM
No you dont. You need steam. Once verefied online and all that during install, simply flick steam to offline mode (or start the computer minus a connection) and your free to play offline.

You will however, as is standard practise these days, need to be online during install. And have steam which depending on which side of the fence your on will either be good/really bad/dont give a dang.
#3Cabose420Posted 7/7/2010 9:59:15 PM
as King said, you don't have to be online to play the game. The game will require Steam, which requires an online verification for you to install the game. once verified, you can set Steam to offline mode, where it will save your profile info locally and won't require a connection to its servers to verify your games.

also if your in the middle of a game and connected to Steam, loosing connection will not boot you from the game, in case you were wondering.

if your computer is constantly connected to the internet then you should have no problems at all with the game.
#4sifer2Posted 7/9/2010 6:24:55 PM
Only games I think are requiring constant internet connection are Ubisofts newer games. Cause they use their own DRM that requires it. Steam itself only requires you to be connected to the Internet during the installation an updating process.
#5Norrec3Posted 7/9/2010 9:36:18 PM