Reroll #3 & Class Role Discussion!

#1stimuzPosted 8/7/2012 5:08:16 PM
Long story short, killed first esper... regretted having a monk, red mage, knight and white mage though I was facerolling everything. I found zero use for my white mage in that case.

So that got me thinking, why not roll a red mage + black mage + breaker team with knight(gotta check zodiacs again, was going with a samurai when I checked) archer and TIME MAGE on standby. I try to breakdown each classes roles but I'm not experienced enough to be sure.

So here is my take on the classes, please correct me if I'm wrong. That's actually the point of the thread :P

Hunter - Role: Tank/Speed?/DPS?
I've looked through the abilities availible to this class many times. I can't see where this fits in even though I've heard other players opinions on this class. I suppose if you cheese an early gladius it can be powerful, but late game I assume it falls off? No breaks, high evasion, mediocre damage(so I hear) with a very, very powerful early game. Am I pretty far off?

Breaker - Role: Tank/Debuffer/DPS
Brings every break to the team allowing for more build freedom, but pairs badly with monk archer or uhlan due to the redundancy of breaks in addition to breaks being the primary purpose of this class. Genji gear is a big plus in my book! Unlocking shades of black does not seem to be a worthwhile sacricice so that's a pretty big con. Otherwise this is probably the best meatshield for a caster team... I think?

Monk - DPS/Offtank/Heals/Support/Breaks/Some Nukes
This class seems to cover nearly everything, yet for some reason I find it very boring. I can't figure out why. Could be the stage of the game I'm in, I really only have auto attack.

Knight - Tank/DPS/Support/Heals