Is having no heavy armor class okay?

#1DarkSamurai29Posted 8/30/2012 6:24:33 PM
I'm pretty new to IZJS, beat first version once a while back but, I followed the advice of various posts on here to a certain degree, and came up with:

Party 1:
Vann: Monk
Basch: Archer
Fran: Hunter

(I know Fran is best as a Red Mage. I understand I was one class away from the infamous Monk/RM/Archer party.. But I just couldn't do it... Her demeanor and outit just scream Ninja at me, so I diverted there.)

Party 2:
Ashe: Samurai
Balthier: WM
Penelo: BM

(As far as I understand those classes all fit extremely well, it was hard to make Balthier a WM but some guy wrote before about how pimp he looks with rods and sold me. - as you can tell aesthetics are important for me I gotta say, quite disappointed in how Ashe holds katanas like big lollipops but the 99 STR/MAG attracts me)

But then I realized I didn't have a heavy armor class and Samurais are not tanks (right?)

So I reorganized to:

Party 1:
Hunter: Fran
Samurai: Ashe
WM: Balthier

And Party 2:
Monk: Vann
Archer: Basche
BM: Penelo

Will A monk and a hunter serve as sufficient tanks? And do I have enough healing in party 2? (will Basch's item use and curara support the Monk's healing? With Penelo's early cure to help me in early game.)
I chose everything and then looked around and realized I won't have any pure heavy armor (at least until Basch gets Shemhazai and Genji for Ashe - and on that note should I give Shemhazai to Ashe for shield block with the genji shield/masamune I late game? Or Heavy Armor for Basch increased damage and defense?)

Thoughts? Suggestions?
#2ArchiantagonistPosted 8/30/2012 8:33:15 PM
DarkSamurai29 posted...
Will A monk and a hunter serve as sufficient tanks?

YES!

And do I have enough healing in party 2?(will Basch's item use and curara support the Monk's healing?With Penelo's early cure to help me in early game.)

You should do fine