Level 4 Armor help

#1revilfourPosted 5/8/2012 6:20:17 PM
Am a big lover of the MH series, have every game and i just bought Tri. My question is i have blown through Barroth and the Gobul pretty easily, but i have Lagiacrus coming up soon. To my knowledge he is going to be quite a pain in the butt.

My question to you is what armor is the best at this point in the game and will take me the farthest till my next gear check.
Right now im using Jaggi GS and full Jaggi armor.

Also im new to the slash axe, is that just an even cheaper version of LS?

Any advice/ discussion is very appreciated.
---
tigrex > ROID RAGE!
#2mynamesKerranPosted 5/8/2012 9:02:28 PM(edited)
Jaggi is a good choice.

It doesn't have the strongest defense of what you're options are, but with attack up, which is easy to gem up to AuM, or you can gem in speed sharpening if you lose sharpness quickly, or whatever else you could effectively use along with AuS, offensively it's probably the best you can do this early on.

The first fights on land I believe, and the quest ends by repelling it. Not really that hard, he's a piece of cake on land.

I, personally prefer lancing lagi.

Lances are great on land because he hardly moves around, like a sitting target, really.

They're also good for underwater fights like lagi because they have good reach, are fast, easy to maneuver, etc.
---
Phantasy Star Online 2 will ruin my life and Monster Hunter.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=krycWIaDjUw
#3ninjanickxPosted 5/8/2012 9:06:53 PM
Jaggi armor is still good enough for Lagiacrus. If you want more Attack Up and Defence, then farm for Barroth armor. Personally, I would get full Barroth except for the legs(keep using Jaggi legs). That will give you Attack Up (M) with 4 slots to play with.
---
Not changing this sig until M$ gets off their lazy @$$ and make Killer Instinct 3.
-Started 12/5/09
#4Munchie906Posted 5/9/2012 4:03:51 PM