Vanguard or Sentinel?

#1Flying_PaladinPosted 1/20/2011 3:10:16 PM
After going through numerous playthroughs as a Soldier, I thought I'd try something different. Engineers & Adepts don't sound like something I'd want to play. Infiltrators are a maybe since they can cloak and use the Widow but strictly relying on long range combat isn't my style. That only leaves the Sentinel and Vanguard. Eventually I picked the Vanguard and so far I'm regretting it. I use Charge and I am immediately getting shot at by three enemies. Sometimes I get lucky and can get Barrier up before I die. For a class that focuses on short ranged combat so much they sure are easy to put down. And FYI I'm playing on Normal.

Currently I am at around seven hours in and I'm seriously thinking about restarting. From what I hear Sents are pretty durable. Maybe I'd enjoy them more.
---
GT: Lunar Zephyr
Spread The Blood Of The Innocent
#2Falcon120Posted 1/20/2011 3:19:34 PM
Going from playing Soldier over and over, Sentinel would probably be the easier transition. I went from playing Infiltrator on insanity to playing Vanguard on insanity, total opposites there haha. So either one works well. Vanguard just has the largest learning curve of all the classes.

The main way to play Vanguard is, for the most part, based on flanking your enemies. Charge the enemy way in the back and then hit the rest from two sides, your squadmates at front and you behind the enemies. Just make sure that anytime before you charge, you have an escape route at the ready. So you have to plan ahead before you charge. If you do so, you can charge anything on insanity and make it out alright. Also, instead of using barrier, you can just use charge again to replenish your shields. Might need to level it up first to do that, but it can work defensively in that regard.