Imperial Agent (Sniper): focusing on a specific skill tree?

#1MstrDrgn1012Posted 1/5/2012 9:40:34 AM
I'll try to keep this moderately short.

I started playing an Agent (which is now my main, fell in love with his smug character and cold demeanor).

I originally wanted to go Special Ops for the extra support (healing) and survival, but ended up deciding to go in a new direction: Sniper with pure DPS. (not usually something I pick)

I love it! Roll into cover, set-up your criticals and explosion prove, stun the extra enemies, and take out your main target in 1-2 shots.

Anyway, i'm wondering which skill tree branch MMORPG vets would tend to focus on, if any (maybe spread across all 3?)

I get that Marksman is to emphasize the Sniper's pure DPS, but honestly, Engineering looks a lot more appealing to me (perhaps because it makes me feel like i didn't stray away too far from the Special Ops? or because i like the idea of a cybertech engineering agent).

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear other Sniper's opinions. Even Operatives really.

But most importantly, how useful is the Engineering branch in the end? Am I ruining my Sniper's potential by overlooking Marksman and focusing on the wrong branch!?
#2CheesypoofPosted 1/5/2012 9:46:44 AM
My sniper's level 25, so take this with a grain of salt, but I enjoy the marksman tree immensely. I've heard good things about engineering too. The one thing I would say is that hybrid builds usually aren't as effective as focusing on one tree. Especially since sniper is pure DPS, you mighty as well pick the skills that have synergy with each other, and that means focusing on a single tree.

TL;DR: Don't hybridize, I like marksman but I haven't played engineer.
---
"My oh my, fools aplenty...that includes me, too." Legault, FE7
#3MstrDrgn1012(Topic Creator)Posted 1/5/2012 9:46:58 AM
Just caught a typo spell-check didn't catch..

*Explosion Probe.... not 'Prove'.
#4MstrDrgn1012(Topic Creator)Posted 1/5/2012 9:49:19 AM