How do I enjoy this game?

#1PNBPosted 1/13/2010 8:48:58 PM

This isn't supposed to be a flame or anything, but an honest question, I don't know how to enjoy the game

I had this single core PC which really could not handle the game at all, at some point every hour ingame was taking like 10s IRL to pass, and it was just unbearably slow, so today, after I got a new PC, I tried the game again and still just couldn't get into it

I have no previous experience with HoI2, just saw someone playing it, once, a long time ago, and got interested, I also had no experience with EU games, but recently I got EU3 and I gotta say, I really liked it, took me a bit to get into it but after I got that part done, I couldn't stop playing for days

So I'm guessing this game is pretty much the same, after playing EU3 I can see there are some familiar concepts in both games and all, but for the first months/years, I basically just let the game play by itself at max speed while I go watch TV or something while it does some research and stuff, also, depending on the country, I wait for my 10 spies to slowly lower my neutrality so I can declare war and actually start playing the war game after like 20 hours or so "playing", am I doing something terribly wrong here or is this normal?

And also, when the war starts, I honestly haven't much of an idea of what is going on, I don't know if I'm losing the battles, if I'm winning, if it's a sure victory/defeat, or anything, makes me feel like a total retard staring at my screen watching the little men shooting eachother for hours having no idea what the hell is going on

Any tips or anything to say at all about this or should I just give up on it?

#2prancingzPosted 1/14/2010 3:24:44 PM