Caitlyn Build and runes.

#1AvionFinchPosted 5/17/2011 2:58:37 PM
I just started playing this game about a week ago, and I love it. I've been using Caitlyn a lot, and want to make sure I build her the right way and have the right runes. So, whats the best way to go?
#2Thalandor46Posted 5/17/2011 3:21:34 PM
Early game, Cait is all about farming and harassing. This means abusing the hell out of Piltover Peacemaker. The biggest block in doing so is mana. Personally, I like to counter this with Masamune. Late game, I like taking down opposing champions with rapid crits. This is how I usually go down:

Desolation/Replenishment/Replenishment/Desolation

Meki Pendant, Health Potion x1
Tear of the Goddess
Boots
Masamune
Berserker's Greaves
Phantom Dancers
Infinity Edge
Stark's Fervor
Frozen Mallet

With that build, you'll be able to hit very hard very fast, and it'll be hard for them to run. Now, here's the key. This is assuming you can get away with a completely offensive build. In the majority of games, you won't be able to. The problem with placing defensive items is that they are usually situational and there's no one good answer for squishy DPS champions. You may want to go for Mercury's Treads against a lot of CC, or Cloak and Dagger if you already got Zerks. Banshee's Veil is always great to counter offensive abilities. Force of Nature might be needed against a magic heavy team. It will take time, but you need to learn to read the situation you're in (or better, will be in) and adapt to what you're up against, as well as figuring out what you can put off or drop completely from the base offensive build. Cait can be a very fun champ to play, taking down squishy champs before they know what hit them or providing a lot of support damage in team fights. But she can just as easily be shut down if she's not prepared for what the opposition has in store.
---
"Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. Give a man two fish, and he'll eat for two days."