Initial Impressions from a DOTA vet

#1furqan212Posted 9/28/2009 3:29:33 PM
After finally sitting through the download process, I finally got around to playing LoL last night for about 4 hours. Qualification: I'm a dota vet, been playing on and off for a few years now. Played competitively a bit, but don't have the time, so I just PuB or just do on the spot premades for the most part these days...

My first thoughts: I really had a good time with League of Legends. I went in with low expectations, but found myself pleasantly surprised. I really like a lot of the things that they've implemented like account leveling, talent trees, and universal hero skills (ie, heal and exhaust). I also really liked the map layouts, tons of side paths and creep camps make for all kinds of mayhem in the gank lanes. I love the insta stealth when hiding in the bushes, makes for some great ambushes. I love that the towers instantly target heroes attacking you, it makes planning attacks around the towers a lot more strategic. I also loved being able to mark heroes for focus fire. Lastly, I thought the item buying process was FANTASTIC. Pick a base item, and it instantly shows all the various recipes that you can now make from your base item. It gives you a recommended item build which can help you just quickly get a foundation and tweak as you continue playing ((although I didn't like some of the recommendations).