Riot points necesary?

#1MPSOKAPosted 3/30/2010 10:57:18 AM
Do you have to eventually spend money on riot points in order to play the game?? I'm a beginner and would like to know before I start to invest my time into learning this game. Thanks
#2stonewall_heroPosted 3/30/2010 10:59:24 AM
never
#3CalmOfEmptinessPosted 3/30/2010 11:08:38 AM
You only need Riot Points to buy skins, you can unlock champions by buying them, and you can buy boosts in IP per day, but Riot's policy is that you can't "buy power," which means you can't directly buy levels and you can't buy Runes.
#4NeCrOmAnCeRPosted 3/30/2010 11:08:50 AM
The only things you get from Riot points that you can't get from IP are skins and boosts.
---
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/882/murderousmeido.jpg
#5MPSOKA(Topic Creator)Posted 3/30/2010 12:01:05 PM
I just played a my first practice match and I only got 30 IP. Is this normal? If the point yield is always this low then it is going to take forever before I can purchase my own champion. Also any advice for a beginner? My friends and I just got into this game pretty fun but, we drastically need some advice. Thanks
#6stonewall_heroPosted 3/30/2010 12:07:20 PM
Practice games give you crap IP while real games give you way more. It is a long climb but fun and frustrating at the same time.

I'd advise you and your friends to try out every hero you can and every different role.

Tank
Carry (ranged or melee)
Support
Caster

and find out what you like. Start off with the basic of the basic of each and then you can move on to the heroes that fill a role in a "unique" way.

Rammus is your basic tank who is almost a no brainer tank and a good one to start with- you can then move on to Shen who is also a tank but tanks in a very unique way.

I cannot stress how important it is too look up a guide for a character and give it some thought- perhaps a build that may interest you.
#7MPSOKA(Topic Creator)Posted 3/30/2010 12:25:28 PM
Thank you very much stonewall for the advise