Need new tank

#1GoldenVoidPosted 1/19/2013 4:54:11 AM
Could anyone recommend a tanky Hero for me to buy. I have little experience with the Heroes as a noob. I am currently enjoying Garen and have my tanking going well, but I can hardly kill anything. I often run into 2 or 3 enemies and I can survive but I cannot kill anyone or even take half a health bar off. I end up with tons of assists but few kills. So I am looking to try someone else. Doesn't need to be a full-on tank, just "tanky" (ie not easily killed) - i.e. just like Garen but a bit more vicious. I don't mind ranged or melee or both.

Either that or maybe I am building Garen wrong. My build is usually heading towards...

Warmund's Armour
Atail's Impaler
Sunfire Cape
Black Cleaver
Guardian Angel or Aegis of the Legion depending on how things are going

Runes: Attack Damage reds and quints, Armour yellows, Scaling MRes blues
Masteries: 9/21/0

Many Thanks
---
Gamer Tag: GhostlightX
#2SheenyGodPosted 1/19/2013 4:56:45 AM
If you want to go tanky and get easy kills just play Daruis and ult everyone when they get low
---
I'm not racist i dont care what color my slave is
GameFaqs-Trolling made easy
#3nomorePosted 1/19/2013 5:03:13 AM
Darius is a good call, can be very tanky and very deadly.

Other than that -
Olaf
Malphite
#4mc_marinerPosted 1/19/2013 6:03:50 AM
I play a lot of Garen and can usually carry if need be. I can give you some tips.

I start boots/3 pots. It lets you stay in lane for a very long time and farm.

First item: Brutalizer. AD, CDR, and Armor Pen. An all around solid item.

I'll buy a Null-magic Mantle or cloth armor if my enemy is keeping up with/beating me, then build it into Ninja Tabi or Merc Treads. If I'm winning, I'll get Boots of Swiftness, as his Q frees him from slows and his W reduces incoming CC, and it helps him stick to targets while spinning.

If I'm against an AP heavy team or laning against strong AP, I'll buy a Spirit Visage.
Finish Black cleaver early.