Noobish question. If all the champions are locked and I don't have enough to...

#1Joker98Posted 1/22/2013 10:51:16 PM
unlock them, do I just wait until I acquire more riot points etc?

When I go to choose my champion before a game, they're all locked and I can't choose 'random' either because when I go to lock in, it says "You can't play with locked champions" or w/e.

Halp? I just started playing btw.
---
~B**** be S****** up in H***.Up in H***. Up in H***.
#2dragonfire55Posted 1/22/2013 10:53:59 PM
You can't get Riot Points through playing the game. Riot Points are bought with real money. You can earn IP though, and that's the only way to get champions if you do not want to spend money on the game. Every week there's free champions for you to play, so you can choose out of those until you accrue enough IP to buy a champion that you like to play.

IP is also used to buy runes, and the ONLY way to get runes, so just be sure to save up a decent amount by the time you hit level 20, as if you do not have runes the early game will be very difficult for you.
---
76% of all statistics are made up on the spot.
PSN: Ryukeshen
#3SorrySleepingPosted 1/22/2013 10:55:26 PM
There are 10 free champions a week for you to play. Play games to earn IP. Use IP to unlock champions permanently.
---
~{Always Sleeping}~
#4DarksteelPosted 1/22/2013 11:05:30 PM
dragonfire55 posted...
You can't get Riot Points through playing the game. Riot Points are bought with real money. You can earn IP though, and that's the only way to get champions if you do not want to spend money on the game. Every week there's free champions for you to play, so you can choose out of those until you accrue enough IP to buy a champion that you like to play.

IP is also used to buy runes, and the ONLY way to get runes, so just be sure to save up a decent amount by the time you hit level 20, as if you do not have runes the early game will be very difficult for you.

Just got this game, how much is a "decent amount?"