This new player is so confused

#1matthew2395Posted 2/20/2013 6:36:35 PM
Hello everyone. I'm new to LoL (although I have played a rather decent amount of time on Dota 2) and they're both fun. This isn't a topic about why one game is better than the other.

I played 5 matches. I found that Garen pwns (went 8-1-1 and then 5-0-2, although for the latter game I lagged out for the last 10 minutes). Unfortunately, when I tried another game, someone took Garen instantly, so I had to use someone else. I chose the drunk guy. WTF is this guy supposed to do? He is so much weaker than Garen in every single way (minus the fact that he has ranged attacks, not that they are any good)). What is he supposed to be used for??? Also, what characters are similar to Garen? I like him, but obviously a lot of others do too.

And would you guys say that the champions are balanced well? I haven't played enough to know.
---
Super Mario 64 > Super Mario Galaxy 1 + 2
#2matthew2395(Topic Creator)Posted 2/20/2013 6:41:53 PM
Sorry for double posting, but I realized that I left out some details. I was never in a team fight, as there were two mids early game who complained for the spot, and one just dced. This left me as solo top. Both of the bottoms dced a bit later while they failed they;re lane.

Nothing happened in my lane. No towers a'sploded, and I died once in lane and a second time trying to save the thingie that you have to explode to win (why did I bother) no kills and no assists.
---
#3GuitarHero171Posted 2/20/2013 6:41:59 PM
I believe you're talking about Gragas. He's supposed to be built as a tanky mage that uses his Q to harass the enemy. He's not the easiest champ to start out with. I would recommend trying out Shen. Dude's a full-on tank that can teleport to team-mates across the map with his ultimate to save them in a tight spot.
---
Official Grouch of the Green Day: Rock Band board
#4Paranoia2mbPosted 2/20/2013 6:47:01 PM
GuitarHero171 posted...