Texas Hold'em: For people who have never played

#1mriswith911Posted 5/19/2010 3:40:13 PM
This is for people that have never played Texas Hold'em before. I'm not an expert so if you notice something I messed up feel free to add something. That said I play semi-often with friends who are rabid Hold'em enthusiasts so I do know my way around the table. From what I've seen RDR follows standard Hold'em rules to the point where what you would do in a real game you would likely do in RDR.

WHAT IT IS AND HOW IT PLAYS

Texas Hold'em is a variation on traditional poker that is insanely popular right now. There aren't any phases where you get to get new cards or anything like that. The basic goal is to make the best hand you can out of the two cards in your hand AND the five cards on the table. Here are the basic mechanics for a single round:

(1) Each round has a "blind" associated with it. This blind is basically the chip amount required to play the hand. The blind is also what the minimum raise amount must be. For example, if the blinds are 6/3 (the big blind and small blind respectively, I'll get to that in a second) then you must put down 6 chips to participate in the hand and the smallest raise you can make is 6.

(2) The players designated as "big blind" and "small blind" MUST put in their chips before the cards are even dealt. The player to the dealer's left is the small blind and the player to their left is the big blind. The big blind must put in the full blind amount (6 in the above example) and the small blind must put in half of that initially.

(3) The dealer deals the cards. Each player is dealt two cards, which they keep for the entire hand and do not show to any other player. You can look at these cards as often as you want although the game will only let you give a real hard look when it's your turn.