This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Catching And Training a Staryu/Starmie

#1ParosaPosted 3/31/2010 4:42:33 PM

Kay guys, I'm not an expert on EV's and stuff like that (I could use a simplistic guide on those). So how do you people recommend I go about catching a staryu, eventually training it to a level above 50 and evolving it to a starmie at some point?

Eventually, I want a high-level SpAttack and Speed-trained starmie with Thunder/Psychic/Surf/Ice Beam or something along those lines.

I should mention that I own fire red, diamond, pearl and soul silver (haven't started on it yet).

#2pokemaster2185Posted 3/31/2010 4:45:12 PM
I got my Staryu in the Pokewalker. Don't remember which area I took a stroll in though. As for natures, you should aim for a Modest nature.
---
Pokemon, GETTO daze!
#3juxtapose1988Posted 3/31/2010 4:49:51 PM
The EV Training Guide in the FAQs section has the basics you'll need to get started looking at EV training. It gives a nice, broad overview without going overboard on details, which usually scare people away.
---
You must do what you feel is right, of course. - Obi-Wan Kenobi
SSBB FC: 1418-6521-5695
#4Parosa(Topic Creator)Posted 3/31/2010 4:53:27 PM

I google'd EV training and the finer details did turn me off it a bit. Will take a look at the FAQ. Thanks :D

#5SSBBisawesomePosted 3/31/2010 4:54:39 PM
I recommend Thunderbolt over Thunder, mostly because of Thunder's horrible accuracy.
---
GT: Vgameman
psn: vgameman15
#6TakeshiSkunkPosted 3/31/2010 4:54:59 PM
I can't remember how many of those moves need to be trained onto it, but you'll want a Modest Staryu with 252 SpAtk/ 252 Speed / last 4 in either Def or SpDef, whichever is lower.

First, before you do any fighting with it, give it 10 each of Carbos and whatever vitamin ups SpAtk. You can't gain any EVs past 100 with vitamins so it's the most efficient to do that right away.