Crafting, and armor questions

#1LunerPosted 9/30/2010 4:45:43 PM
From my understanding you must gather materials and craft your own armor.

I'm currently playing the cat girl people, as an Archer. I'm new to the whole FF online universe. so I have no idea what I'm doing here. I've done a few quests here and there, but I'm curious as to how I go about obtaining the proper tools to craft armor. Further more, I was wondering if you have to craft your own weapons as well. Being an archer, I'm having trouble figuring out where to purchase arrows or where I go to craft them and what have you.

If anyone can clarify please do.
---
The process of learning to draw is like developing a taste for fine wine, the longer you indulge in it, the more adept you become at tasting your art.
#2kamikaze135Posted 9/30/2010 4:47:39 PM
You need to switch classes (so buy the weapon appropriate to the class you want) then craft away. Go to http://ffxiv.yg.com/ for recipes.
---
Set signature in options page.
#3SpinCyclePosted 9/30/2010 4:52:42 PM
You don't need to craft your own weapons or armor. You can buy them from other
players bazaars or in the market wards from retainers if your brave and have a
couple hours to waste. However it is advisable to level a craft. You can do so by
purchasing a tool for said craft from an npc in the main cities.

You don't really need new armor until post rank 10 though, and you should have
plenty of gil to purchase those by that time. Do some leves, both regional and local.
Get in a leve party when you've completed your own.
---
"I'm rubber, you're glue. Things bounce off of me and your made from horses."
#4Luner(Topic Creator)Posted 9/30/2010 5:51:04 PM
Ok, I'm in Gridania, where exactly would I go to buy new weapons? Also, does anyone have suggestions of what might be a good craft to pick up?
---
The process of learning to draw is like developing a taste for fine wine, the longer you indulge in it, the more adept you become at tasting your art.