Why do sequels take steps backwards?

#1SedatedPosted 4/27/2012 9:22:20 AM
I started playing The Witcher 2 (I'm almost to chapter 3\ , I've been enjoying it so much I decided to start playing The Witcher 1 before finishing 2.

I notice this more and more in sequels, it seems like a lot of sequels take steps backwards in various ways and TW series seems to be no different. Now I've JUST started playing TW1 and I've already noticed a few things that it does better. I'm not trying to talk about things that are more opinion based, like enjoying the combat or some such from the 1st more but more clear cut things..

Map: The map in TW2 is almost worthless, imagine my surprise when it turns out TW1 has a fairly nice and if nothing else functional map.

AA: TW2 is clearly superior in the graphics department as a whole. TW1 isn't a bad looking game even now though the animations are horrible and look PS1 era. Yet thanks to being able to choose the level of AA in TW1 I have less jagged edges when compared to TW2.. go figure.

Signs: TW1 allows me to cast a sign with out drawing my sword yet in TW2 I need my sword out to cast a spell.

I'm not saying these things are gamebreaking, I just find it curious when games take steps backwards. These are little things but I often wonder does nobody test these things and go "Umm hey, the way we did it in the 1st was better on this little touch here..let's change it"
---
NegiBozu203 posted...
Facts don't mean **** to me.
#2Sedated(Topic Creator)Posted 4/27/2012 9:25:38 AM
Oh and I can even tell north from south with the minimap!
---
NegiBozu203 posted...
Facts don't mean **** to me.
#3PaoksisPosted 4/27/2012 10:29:16 AM

the map was definetely better and the story even more and the combat was fine,but clearly worse than the sequel...in general they did some steps backwards,some steps forward but the experience still remains top notch.....both witchers are amazing in their own way

#4AklisPosted 4/27/2012 11:03:00 AM