Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode Rulings

#1GanonfordPosted 6/21/2010 9:31:01 PM
I have a friend who plays with a Stardust Assault deck and I want to know how to counter it. Which of the following scenarios would work?

1) Stardust/Assault is summoned. I'm assuming Solemn Judgment works to negate the summoning, but will Royal Oppression / Thunder King Rai-Oh negate it, or can Stardust just chain with its own effect?

2) Stardust/Assault is summoned at the end phase by its own effect. Would the above methods work in this case?

3) Stardust/Assault has the ability to negate the activation and effect of a Spell/Trap/Monster and destroy it. Can Stardust/Assault negate the effect of continuous effects already in play (Such as Burden of the Mighty)

And just for clarification, Stardust/Assault can't do anything to counter traps like Divine Wrath right?
---
Pokemon Pearl Friend Code: 4854 2924 6324
Super Smash Bros. Brawl Friend Code: 0173-0985-7851
#2drake_skullPosted 6/21/2010 9:33:29 PM
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Stardust_Dragon/Assault_Mode
---
WC2010 FC 1291 1684 6591 Name: Maniak
I have had enough of your Disingenuous Assertions
#3drake_skullPosted 6/21/2010 9:34:37 PM
Regular Stardust Rulings apply for anything that doesn't cover.
---
WC2010 FC 1291 1684 6591 Name: Maniak
I have had enough of your Disingenuous Assertions
#4zumriPosted 6/21/2010 9:39:15 PM
Ok, SD/AM has Speed Spell 2 Priority, that means it can chain to anything that has SS2 or SS1. Counter Traps are Speed Spell 3, that means that SD/AM can't chain to them, meaning, that a Solemn Judgment, Divine Wrath will kill it. Another way to counter Stardust, is to kill it with a stronger monster, highly unlikely scenario, but it can happen. Yet another way, is to remove it from play after it has activate its effect, and SD/AM is in the Graveyard, this can be done with cards like D.D. Crow.

Macro Cosmos decks are effective against Stardust, given that you activate Macro Cosmos first, before SD/AM is summoned.
---
Zumri, Killing Topics Since 2002.Unlovable
Game Trailers Theater - http://www.youtube.com/user/GameTrailersTheater
#5Dion_MarcellPosted 6/21/2010 9:48:18 PM
Basically, nearly anything that can stop regular Stardust can also stop it's /Assault Mode.
---
Mega Man Star Force 3: Black Ace FC - 3438-6611-8926
Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's World Championship 2010 FC - 0432-1201-3270
#6Ganonford(Topic Creator)Posted 6/21/2010 9:53:24 PM
With regards to Speed Spells then, can Stardust/Assault chain Royal Oppression and Thunder King Rai-Oh, since they're only Speed 2?
---
Pokemon Pearl Friend Code: 4854 2924 6324
Super Smash Bros. Brawl Friend Code: 0173-0985-7851
#7Dion_MarcellPosted 6/21/2010 9:57:01 PM
Both card negate the summon of Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode, so you can't counter it by something that isn't on the field.
---
Mega Man Star Force 3: Black Ace FC - 3438-6611-8926
Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's World Championship 2010 FC - 0432-1201-3270
#8zumriPosted 6/21/2010 10:09:52 PM
Yeah, if for example, the effect of Royal Oppression read as "When A Monster is Special Summoned, Pay 800 Life Points to destroy it..." Then you could chain Stardust's effect, and destroy Royal Oppression. But since Royal Oppresion Negates the Summon, he doesn't hit the field completely to be able to activate its effect.
---
Zumri, Killing Topics Since 2002.Unlovable
Game Trailers Theater - http://www.youtube.com/user/GameTrailersTheater
#9ZeekfoxPosted 6/21/2010 10:11:04 PM
Rai-Oh can't tribute itself to counter an effect that special summons. Therefore, Rai-Oh could only counter the synchro summon of Stardust Dragon. Past that, he's screwed.

Oppression would work though.
---
What's the life of a soldier without a steady diet of war? Blood and pain are the foods of a true warrior! ~King Ashnard, FE9
*Zeek on MKWii, FC in profile*
#10RaivarPosted 6/21/2010 10:51:43 PM
You could try Widespread Dud, my stardust fell to it pretty badly. But I was fighting a cpu at the time.

Here's what happened I summoned SD they had one monster, one trap. I attacked confident it could save itself. they flipped WD over activating it, placed the marks choosing SD and their monster as the targets SD wiped the floor, and proceeded to be destroyed with nothing I could do to stop it. I feel rather foolish for falling for this but hind sight is 20/20 as they say. This method costs a monster and some life points but far less than the half you pay for oppression. Won't stop it from joining the field, but the point is to clear it without the effect activating right.

The most embarrassing part of this little story is, I believe Ida was the cpu. bleh!

Oh well, thats why I love my new deck. I'm never more than two turns away from summoning SD.
Rose, warrior of revenge+Wall of Illusion for a clear field second turn summon.